Hello friends, acquaintances, strangers and nerds! Somehow you’ve stumbled across this blog and hopefully you enjoy reading it!

I’m Jordan aka themanofstripes and I’ve been wanting to start a blog to write about all my nerdy thoughts and passions about video games, comics, movies and TV shows. So here it is! I’m a journalism student, so having a career as a journalist in any of those fields would be the ultimate dream job. Bear with me as I try to unravel the mysteries of WordPress and make this site easier on the eyes over time. I’d like to keep updating this blog with reviews, lists and random thoughts into the far future, so here’s a taste of what you can expect!

Games

Photo Source

I grew up as a Nintendo kid and owned a Game Boy, Nintendo 64 and GameCube as my first systems, but then matured into a Sony fan several years ago when I bought a PS3. I now have a PS4 and a 3DS for my Pokémon and Super Smash Bros addictions and the occasional Legend of Zelda and Mario games. On Playstation, some of my all-time favorite games are The Last of Us, the Uncharted series, the Bioshock series, Borderlands 2, Rocksteady’s Batman games and almost everything by Telltale Games. I’m also a big fan of Grand Theft Auto 5, Hotline Miami, Skyrim, Fallout 4, Journey and LEGO games.

 

Comics

invincible105_cover2
Photo Source

I’ve always been a voracious reader, and now I tend to read more comics than novels. Sadly being a comic fan can be expensive, so I pick up anything that catches my eye at the library. I grew up reading The Big Two, but leaned slightly toward Marvel over DC. Spider-Man and Batman are my top two favorites, with Daredevil, Green Lantern, Wolverine, Joker and Captain America being up there too. Over the past few years, I dove into Image Comics headfirst and fell in love with Invincible, The Walking Dead, Chew, Saga, Lazarus and many others. From Vertigo Y: The Last Man and Fables are a couple of my favorites, too.

 

    Movies and TV

starwars-0-01
Photo Source

My favorite movies are constantly changing as I watch new films, but I have some that are all-time classics. It goes without saying that I love almost all of the Marvel movies (Sorry Thor) and the Star Wars, Indiana Jones and Harry Potter series. Movies from Christopher Nolan, Quentin Tarantino and Pixar are also high up on my list. Other random favorites I can think of are Blades of Glory, Forrest Gump, Nightcrawler, Fight Club and Gone Girl. I don’t have as much time to watch an entire TV series now, but I’m obsessed with Game of Thrones, Breaking Bad, The Office, Parks and Recreation, Jessica Jones, and currently Mr. Robot. I’m prone to the occasional Netflix binge and always try to find time to watch new and classic movies and shows to watch.

